Lament from Epirus

Some readers may be interested in this forthcoming book by Grammy-winning producer Christopher C King, about the oldest fold music tradition in Europe, music that Paddy almost certainly would have come across in his travels across northern Greece.

Described as being in the tradition of Patrick Leigh Fermor and Geoff Dyer, Christopher King discovers a powerful and ancient folk music tradition.

In a dark record shop in Istanbul, King uncovered some of the strangest and most hypnotic sounds he had ever heard. The 78s seemed to tap into a primal well of emotion inaccessible to contemporary music. The songs, King learned, were from Epirus, an area straddling southern Albania and northwestern Greece and boasting a folk tradition extending back to the pre-Homeric era. Lament from Epirus is an unforgettable journey into a musical obsession which follows a genre back to the roots of song itself. As King hunts for traces of two long-lost virtuosos, he tells the story of the Roma people who pioneered Epirotic folk music and whose descendants continue the tradition today. His journey becomes an investigation into song and dance’s role as a means of spiritual healing and what this may reveal about music’s original purpose.

The book is due for release in May and can be pre-ordered on Amazon. Lament from Epirus: An Odyssey Into Europe’s Oldest Surviving Folk Music

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Lament from Epirus

  1. Vince Gratzer

    Dear Sir,

    I found another reference to Paddy and Basilicata, below. Please let me know if you’ve received these messages as I’m not sure the reply email address is correct. Also, if you know a better forum for discussions of PLF, please let me know.

    I just found another reference to Basilicata (which Paddy, in this instance refers to the old, traditional name, Lucania) in Patrick Leigh Fermor A Life In Letters. 15 August 1959 p. 178. Paddy’s written: “…were necessary for travel in those parts of Italy which were formerly Magna Graecia, for research into ancient Greek and Byzantine vestiges in Apulia, Lucania and Calabria, both architectural and linguistic, for a companion volume to Mani…” Anything ever published on this subject? I’m in the process of reading the last two or three of his books that I haven’t read and can’t remember any mention of Magna Graecia.

    1,000 thanks (as Paddy would have said!!)

    Best wishes,

    Vince

    From: Vince Gratzer [mailto:vgratzer@lascrucesproductions.com] Sent: Saturday, March 10, 2018 1:51 PM To: ‘Patrick Leigh Fermor’ Subject: PLF in Basilicata?

    Dear Sir,

    I’ve been subscribing and reading you wonderful blog on PLF and enjoying it very much.

    I’ve been enjoying Adam Sisman’s Patrick Leigh Fermor A Life In Letters. In a letter to Joan on p. 68 top, he writes: Do let’s wander about the Basilicata sometime in search of Greek stragglers, it would be a wonderful quest.

    He also mentions a few pages later on the top of p. 74: The Greek venture has been a tremendous success. We [Peter Quennell?] went by road to Brindisi (across Apulia, via Lucera, Bari and those queer domed villages, Casa Rotunda and Alberobello) shipped the jeep from Brundisium to Corfu…

    My family is from Basilicata region and I’d like to know if Paddy wrote anything about that region?

    Thanks very much and any assistance you could give would be most appreciated.

    Kind regards,

    Vince Gratzer

    Los Angeles, CA

    Reply
    1. proverbs6to10 Post author

      Hello Vince – your comments are clear and here for all to see. As far as other discussion forums go there is a Facebook group. Your interest is quite niche I’m afraid to say, so it is unlikely that there will be a great response. Thanks. Tom

      Reply
  2. Vince Gratzer

    Dear Sir,

    I’ve been subscribing and reading you wonderful blog on PLF and enjoying it very much.

    I’ve been enjoying Adam Sisman’s Patrick Leigh Fermor A Life In Letters. In a letter to Joan on p. 68 top, he writes: Do let’s wander about the Basilicata sometime in search of Greek stragglers, it would be a wonderful quest.

    He also mentions a few pages later on the top of p. 74: The Greek venture has been a tremendous success. We [Peter Quennell?] went by road to Brindisi (across Apulia, via Lucera, Bari and those queer domed villages, Casa Rotunda and Alberobello) shipped the jeep from Brundisium to Corfu…

    My family is from Basilicata region and I’d like to know if Paddy wrote anything about that region?

    Thanks very much and any assistance you could give would be most appreciated.

    Kind regards,

    Vince Gratzer

    Los Angeles, CA

    Reply
    1. proverbs6to10 Post author

      Hello Vince. Thanks for getting in touch. I am unaware of any writings by Paddy about that region. Nothing springs to mind. He was widely travelled (in Europe), mentioning many places, but unable to write in detail about many of them. Tom

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s